(Face)Book Challenge

There is a chain-letter-esque “book challenge” going around on Facebook, and since I haven’t posted in a long while, I thought I would register my protest of chain letters here. Ten books that have “stayed with you in some way,” complete with brief commentary.

  1. Book of Sorrows – Walter Wangerin, Jr. Incredibly emotional, potent, allegorical, moving; a work of art. The sequel to the almost equally powerful Book of the Dun Cow.
  2. Brave New World – Aldous Huxley. Fahrenheit 451 and 1984 were thisclose to bumping Huxley out, but I went with Huxley since he was the most accurate, prophetically speaking (see: Postman’s Amusing Ourselves to Death).
  3. Brothers Karamazov – Fyodor Dostoevsky. You haven’t lived until you’ve read Russian fiction. Or something like that. Dostoevsky’s insights into human nature are beyond profound.
  4. Great Divorce – C.S. Lewis. Short parable on the afterlife; very influential for me.
  5. Heidelberg Catechism – Ursinus, et al. Beautiful, concise, and intimately personal, especially compared with the precise and verbose Westminster catechisms.
  6. Love in the Ruins – Walker Percy. What does it say about me that my favorite author is a Southern Catholic existentialist? This was my first, and is still my favorite, Percy work.
  7. Reforming Marriage – Doug Wilson. Great insights on a biblical view on marriage. Concepts and ideas, if not specifics, have shaped and continue to inform our marriage.
  8. Supper of the Lamb: A Culinary Reflection – Robert Farrar Capon. I’d love to be able to think and write like Capon. His artistic writings on hospitality, food, and life are invaluable.
  9. Technopoly: The Surrender of Culture to Technology – Neil Postman. Postman has had a profound influence on my life and thought, though probably not as much lately. Time to read more Postman!
  10. Through New Eyes: Developing a Biblical View of the World – James Jordan. I don’t remember too many specifics about this one, but the biblical typologies were mind blowing and definitely changed the way I read scripture.

comment

