Poll: New Blog Design?

I’ve been getting antsy with my blog’s design lately, wanting to bring it into more of the 2012 (or even 2010) style. Unfortunately, Blogger hasn’t done too many improvements to their templates, and I am too lazy to switch to WordPress. Recently, Blogger released some modern layouts, and I’ve temporarily updated the blog to this fancy new layout.

So, what do you think? Should I keep it or stick to the old one? Here’s a screen shot of the old layout, in case you needed a refresher:

 

Some features that I liked about the old design that would be lost in the slick new one are: sidebar features like recent comments, my Twitter feed, my current reading list via Library Thing; and the snazzy header designed by Jimmey. Some of the same links are on the right, in a nifty pull out tab (older posts, tags, and links). The top tab navigation should still be functional.

3 thoughts on “Poll: New Blog Design?

  1. I think it looks great, though I sympathize with your hesitation to lose the LibraryThing and other sidebars. I made the switch to WordPress years ago and have loved it ever since. The switch is very easy, too. Pick up jvpearce.com ($10/yr on Yahoo) and upload WordPress for the perfect solution!All that said, if you don't have the time to do all that — this is a great design, in my opinion.Last thought – commenting is trickier with this design. Weird scrollbar overlaps.

  2. A belated thank you, Aron. I solved the sidebar problems with links up at the top instead. Who knows how many people actually looked at them anyway. I've checked into WordPress a couple times over the years, and never liked their designs enough to take the trouble to make the switch. And I think Blogger has more customizability, at least for someone like me who isn't going to design my own site. I have been thinking of getting my own domain though…Sorry about the comments. I haven't noticed that problem yet, so maybe it's a screen resolution problem?

  3. I don't remember seeing the 'previous posts' with nifty comment # callouts down the left side – that's pretty slick! Here's what a non-blog-owner sees when previewing a comment: pic1, pic2) – minor annoyance. That said, I really dig the new look.

comment

