Reading through the Bible

2009 was the year of the Institutes. 2010 was the year of 50. 2011 will be the year of the Bible.

This year I’ve been challenged by my dad and humbled by the comparative dearth of my Scripture reading to other books. So I’m going to read through the Bible this year, while cutting down on my traditional reading list.

There are a lot of reading plans out there, and the one I’m most familiar with is the M’Cheyne reading plan. This plan takes the reader through the New Testament, Psalms, and Proverbs twice, and the rest of the Old Testament once in one year (there is also a two-year version). I’ve started this plan at least half a dozen times in my life, and failed each time. The fault is my own, though I’ve found the format hinders more than helps the process for me. Instead of reading short passages from four different places in the Bible each day as M’Cheyne would prescribe, I’m planning on adapting Stephen Witmer’s plan, which is based on Fee & Stuart’s How to read the Bible book by book. This plan, when modified, will take me through the Bible one book at a time, plus one Psalm or Proverb chapter each day. If all goes as planned, I’ll read through the Bible once in a year and Psalms and Proverbs twice. I’m anticipating this plan to be more manageable and enjoyable. I also considered the chronological reading plan, but thought it would be too confusing to keep up with.

So who’s with me?

6 thoughts on “Reading through the Bible

  1. oooo…I have been convicted that I have never read through the Bible, EVER! Plus I start trying to read through and never finish…so that is a goal for me too, although I am going to read through chronologically. I think it will help me to organized the happenings of the OT. I will try to remember to pray for you everyday as I read, that you will keep up with your goal :o)

  2. I like your suggestion a lot. I've never heard of those reading plans before. The only other time I read through the Bible was in high school, so it's about time to do it again. Thanks bro.

comment

