Christian Hedonism; Confession of Sin

I don’t have enough links for an Information Overload, but I had two main posts to link to that have been of great benefit to me.

The first is actually several in a series on John Piper’s “Christian hedonism,” something that I don’t disagree with but am hesitant about. Doug Wilson, likewise, doesn’t disagree with Piper’s Christian hedonism, but in accepting it, he shows that it should be taken “further up and further in.” In doing so in this series, he hits on many of my questions and puts them into words much better than I ever could. Here are the posts, in order from first to last (if you don’t have time to read all of them, the first two are excellent):

Piperian Hedonism 3.0
A Full Tank of Gas and Lots of Wyoming Ahead
The Barkity Barkity Midnight Dog
Math Problems in a Dark Room
Creation is Thick, I Tell You

Here’s a lengthy quotation from the first post:

“Van Til once said that if there were one place on creation’s radio dial where nonbelievers could tune in and not hear God, that is where everybody would have their radio set, all the time. His point was of course that God broadcasts, all the time, on every channel. But often, believers make a similar mistake, that of thinking that God broadcasts on only one channel, and then they do their level pious best to keep their radio tuned to that one channel. But then the time comes when the rest of your family and friends tire of hearing the Haven of Rest Quartet 24-7, and so life elsewhere begins to wither and dry up. And sanctifying the rest of the channels does not consist of making them into ‘religious broadcasting.'”

And one from the excellent second post:
“There is a delicate balance here, but God is most glorified in me when I love what He has given to me, for its own sake. This is teleologically related to the macro-point of God’s glory being over all, of course, but we still have to enjoy what He gives, flat out, period, stop. Otherwise, in the resurrection, God will be looking at all the billions of His resurrected saints, standing there contentedly, looking at Him, and He will say, ‘You know, you people are impossible to shop for.’ Which is, of course, absurd and impossible. In the resurrection, it will be possible for us to be absorbed by God’s gifts in ways that are impossible to conceive of now.”

The other link is to a post from Kevin DeYoung on the necessity of confession of sin – in corporate and private worship and prayer. It is spot-on. An excerpt:

“Confession of sin is one of the missing ingredients in the life of today’s Christian. We feel bad all the time, but often it’s over the wrong things. And when we do feel sorry for our sin, we don’t know what to do with it. We feel like we would be cheapening the blood of Christ if we confessed again. So we hesitate to repent. We feel bad, but we don’t confess and enjoy a clean conscience.”

One thought on “Christian Hedonism; Confession of Sin

  1. Great stuff. Thanks Joel. The whole christian hedonism subject is so tantalizing. The first time I wrestled with it it caused brain gymnastics, but it makes sense in a lot of ways. The terms alone suck you in and make you want to figure it all out. Even though I'm not a big huge fan, I thank God for Piper. And as for Wilson. I can't say I love Doug Wilson because I've never met him, but for lack of a larger vocabulary maybe I will. The way his brain works is an amazement to me. Every time I listen to a sermon or read one of his books or blog articles I'm totally sucked in. I definitely think more of the church should lend an ear to both of these men of God.

comment

