Song for Athene

We were blessed by the Houghton College Choir last week at their spring performance in Lancaster. My college roommate, Christopher Aitken, is earning his master’s in choral conducting, and sang tenor with the choir. He also conducted “Praise My Soul” at the performance and did a masterful job. There were many highlights of the performance, including Aitken’s conducting and a stirring performance of Bach’s “Komm, Jesu, Komm.” But the highlight for me was their rendition of the minimalist, sublime “Song for Athene” by John Tavener. The stirring climax brought us to tears (“Come, enjoy rewards…”). I found out later that it was performed at Princess Diana’s funeral. I had a hard time finding a good version to link to, so I’ll provide a version I bought from Amazon by the St. John’s College Choir.

Click here to download and listen to “Song for Athene.” (it’s legit, don’t fret)

Lyrics:
Alleluia.
May flights of angels sing thee to thy rest.
Remember me, O Lord, when you come into your kingdom.
Give rest, O Lord, to your handmaid who has fallen asleep.
The choir of saints have found the well-spring of life and door of paradise.
Life: a shadow and a dream.
Weeping at the grave creates the song: Alleluia.
Come, enjoy the rewards and crowns I have prepared for you.

comment

