Fifteen Books

Saw this on the Bayly Blog, apparently it’s another one of those Facebook quizzes making the rounds. I was intrigued and thought it would be a fun exercise. “Rules” are:

This can be a quick one, don’t take too long to think about it. Come up with fifteen books you’ve read that will always stick with you. First fifteen you can recall in no more than 15 minutes. Tag 15 friends, including me because I’m interested in seeing what books my friends choose.

Instead of tagging me, feel free to post on your blog, or leave some thoughts in the comments section (Dad – this might have to be your first comment!). I am interested to see what all three of my readers choose! Also, I purposely left off the Bible, though if I included it, the ESV Reformation Study Bible would be my choice. In no particular order (just the order that I thought of them):

1. Neil Postman (namely Technopoly and Amusing Ourselves to Death)
2. Christianity & Liberalism – J. Gresham Machen
3. Holiness – J.C. Ryle
4. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
5. Christless Christianity – Michael Horton
6. Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
7. Memoirs of an Ordinary Pastor – D.A. Carson
8. Each for the Other – Bryan Chapell
9. Chronicles of Narnia – C.S. Lewis (some more than others)
10. Space Trilogy – C.S. Lewis (especially the first two)
11. Lord of the Rings trilogy – J.R.R. Tolkien (plus The Hobbit)
12. Robinson Crusoe – Daniel Defoe
13. The Church at the End of the 2oth Century with The Church Before the Watching World – Francis Schaeffer
14. The Doctrines of Grace – James Boice & Philip Ryken
15. Frankenstein – Mary Shelley

Some of these have stuck with me since I was a kid, some since high school, some since college, and some are more recent additions. I’m surprised at the decent mix that it turned out to be.

5 thoughts on “Fifteen Books

  1. Only 15?! That's not possible. But if I omit Witsius, John Bunyan, Thomas Watson, Machen, Ed Welch, John White, Dick Gaffin, John Frame, Jack Miller, Piper, John Calvin, Vos, Van Til, my commentaries, history and counseling books, then here are 15:1. The Reformed Pastor, Richard Baxter2. Doctrines of Grace, J Boice3. Holiness by Grace, Bryan Chapell (and also Christ Centered Preaching)4. The Face of Truth, Bill Edgar5. The God of Promise and Christless Christianity, Horton6. Justification by Faith Alone, J MacArthur7. Biography of Van Til, John Muether8. Biography of D Martin Lloyd-Jones, Iain Murray – and all his other books, like Revival and Revivalism.9. Redemption Accomplished and Applied, John Murray.10. Is Believing in God Irrational? Amy Orr-Ewing.11. Knowing God, J I Packer12. Total Truth, Nancy Pearcy13. The God Who is There, Francis Schaeffer – and his other books, as How Shall We Then Live14. Holiness of God, R C Sproul – and his other books.15. Memoirs of an Ordinary Pastor, CarsonAnd many many more . . .

  2. Joel's dad –I almost put "Reformed Pastor," and should have.I totally forgot about John Frame and shouldn't have.I'm eager to read "Memoirs of an Ordinary Pastor."

comment

