Long Have I Heard the Joyful Sound

Don’t really have much time to post lengthy things lately (only a couple more weeks!), but this song has been making its rounds in my head lately, and the words are fantastic. It was originally penned by Isaac Watts in 1709, and redone by Matthew Smith in 2008 on his Love Will Never Die EP. Matthew Smith’s version is very well done. You can download the album at his website for free by telling five friends about it.

Here are the lyrics from Matthew Smith’s version:

Long have I heard the joyful sound
Of Thy salvation, Lord.
But still how weak my faith is found,
How slow to learn Thy Word!

How cold and feeble is my love,
How negligent my fear!
How low my hope of joys above;
How few affections have I there!

Great God! Thy sovereign power impart
To give Thy Word success;
Write Thy salvation in my heart,
And make me learn Thy grace.

Show my forgetful feet the way
That leads to joys on high;
There knowledge grows without decay,
And love shall never die.

comment

