25 Things

If you’re on Facebook, you’ve probably seen seen the “25 Things” making its rounds. You write 25 random things about yourself, “tag” 25 of your friends, and see read everyone else’s. It reminds me a lot of those chain-emails back in 7th – 10th grade that were so popular. Those were a little more directed, though, with specific questions to answer. This Facebook craze lends itself to being more creative, though it’s hard to not just look at other people’s 25 things for ideas.

I was intrigued when I first saw this, and immediately wanted to give it a go, though my “cool” gene was screaming not to. I’ve been deliberating on whether to do it at all, and once I decided to, I didn’t know whether to do it on Facebook or on the blog. After a week, I decided to give it a whirl on the ole blog. There really is no order to mine, they are truly random.

1. My life can be broken down into distinct eras of musical preferences.

2. I can’t pronounce “orange” any other way than “arnge.”

3. I refuse to be grouped into the social/political group “evangelical,” though based on the original meaning of the word, I am one.

4. I wish I had my parents’ brilliant idea of naming pets after theologians (Tilly, Machen, and Callie so far for them). Sadly, our cats’ names are not themed.

5. I have at least a dozen plays from the Madden ’06 video game committed to muscle memory.

6. I’ve been to over 100 concerts and seen over 400 bands.

7. I really, really like The Sound of Music.

8. I would much rather prefer to not talk about myself. Thus, this is an awkward exercise.

9. Everyday, I am astounded that my wife loves me.

10. The furthest west I have been is the eastern bank of the Mississippi River. I’ve also never been outside North America.

11. One of my biggest pet peeves is when people “creep” at red lights for no reason.

12. I think C.S. Lewis can be grossly overrated sometimes, and vastly underrated at other times.

13. I think Americans in general are perilously under-educated on matters like American history, the political process, abortion, economics, the Bible, and the Reformed tradition.

14. I’m not sure how much different things would be if we were educated better.

15. I blame sin for #14.

16. I’m not nearly as educated about those things as I’d like to be.

17. I think that many people who leave church because it is hypocritical don’t really understand sin.

18. I retain almost nothing when listening to audio books.

19. I am appalled that the Yankees spend so much money, but I still bleed pinstriped blood.

20. I want to fix up an old bike and take up cycling again.

21. I prefer using the British spelling of many words.

22. If I get a tattoo, I would get my wife’s name tattooed underneath my wedding band, in her handwriting.

23. It is much easier for me to express myself through the written word than through the spoken word.

24. I’d like to relearn piano without practicing.

25. I am not ashamed of the Gospel, for it is the power of God unto salvation.

comment

