Throwing Punches in the Dark

Seriously, if you don’t have Matthew Perryman Jones‘ album Throwing Punches in the Dark, you need really need to obtain it. The song “Refuge” was one of my least favourite on the album at first, but it’s grown to one of my favourite now. Weird how that happens, eh?

Lord, I feel the weight of a mountain
Pressing down inside my soul.
I can see the pillars fallin’;
There ain’t nothin’ left to hold.
The reigns are broken, too;
I can’t steer this.
There’s nothing I can do
Except to throw my arms out.

Take me to
A place where love can mend these wounds;
Where mystery can dance with truth,
And the broken soul finds refuge

I get so tired of fighting –
Throwing punches in the dark;
When mystery’s seduction
Keeps a blindfold on my heart.
Oh, it seems too much;
God I fear this,
I’m longing for your touch
And for your kisses.

Take me to
A place where love can mend these wounds;
Where mystery can dance with truth,
And the broken soul finds refuge.

Can you calm this angry tide,
The fears and rage inside?
Won’t you lead to the place where beauty dwells?
You go dancing on the hills,
And I won’t rest until
You take me to the place where beauty dwells.

comment

