Michigan Can Redeem Their Season

The Michigan Wolverines are having their worst season ever and it’s actually quite embarrassing. A friend of mine, trying to encourage me, mentioned that other new coaches at big time college football programs did even worse their first year, yet came back the second year with a vengeance. Of course, I can’t remember the coaches he mentioned, but I think Steve Spurrier at South Carolina was one? Hopefully Michigan’s Rich Rodriguez can follow suit.

Even though the season is absolutely terrible, I, like most Michigan fans (I think?) would be willing to (almost) forgive Rich Rod if he somehow led the Wolverines to a win this weekend against the loathsome unnamed team named after a North American tree or shrub related to the horse chestnut, with showy yellow, red, or white flowers.

Perhaps feeling a little overconfident (and probably rightfully so), a Buckeye friend who transplanted to Wolverine territory sent the following email with the introductory sentence “See what you miss by not living in Michigan!”

Four college alumni were climbing a mountain one day: an Ohio State grad, a Michigan grad, a Michigan State grad, and a Notre Dame grad. Each proclaimed to be the most loyal of all fans at their alma mater.

As they climbed higher, they argued as to which one of them was the most loyal of all. They continued to argue all the way up the mountain, and finally as they reached the top, the Notre Dame grad hurled himself off the mountain shouting, “This is for the Fighting Irish!” as he fell to his doom.

Not wanting to be outdone, the MSU grad threw himself off the mountain proclaiming, “This is for the Spartans!” and plummeted to his death.

Seeing this, the U of M grad walked over and shouted, “This is for Everybody!” and shoved the Buckeye off the side of the mountain.

GO BLUE!

[I’m wondering what the four were thinking participating in any sort of activity together in the first place]

3 thoughts on “Michigan Can Redeem Their Season

  1. I got that email from Ed, too.I have committed the date of the Wolverine/Poison Nut game to memory in August of every other year of my life. In the past I have, as much as possible, altered my schedule to be in front of a television for the game. While I knew the game was approaching, I didn’t realize it was this Saturday until your post.

  2. I didn’t realize the Buckeyes were quite so loathsome to Wolverine fans til I read your blog. I should have figured…Hmmm, hope you like your Christmas present 😉

comment

