Information Overload

It’s “crunch time” in regards to job work and school work, so in all the busyness I don’t really have that much time to devote to decent, meaningful posts. So I figured I would collect the articles, links, and other miscellaneous items I’ve found helpful/entertaining/enlightening over the last couple weeks, distill them, and let you peruse them. I see it as part of my librarian-type affinity for gathering and sharing information.


Popular Mechanic‘s 100 Skills Every Man Should Know. I went through these briefly, and I know maybe 55-ish of them. Top of the list for me to learn? Numbers 17, 51, 57, 70.

Obama Win Causes Obsessed Backers To See How Empty Lives Are. Brilliant video news reporting by The Onion.

Can Obama Lose The BlackBerry? I really enjoyed this article on the presidency and electronic media. What I found especially fascinating was how electronic media is changing the face of the presidency. For example, Obama might be the first president ever to have a laptop on his desk in the Oval Office. I also wasn’t really aware of the “Presidential Records Act” either – goes to show you can’t believe everything you see on 24.

Arrested Development Movie is a Go! Jeffrey Tamboer (George Sr.) recently confirmed that an Arrested Development film is in the works. It also has a page up on IMDB. I’m trying not to get my hopes up. The link also has a great video montage of all the chicken dances from the show. Priceless.

Thinking Biblically about Facebook. This link is more of an outline, but it’s still interesting. Worth a shot to revisit in a few weeks to see if they posted the audio/video for this talk. [ht: colossians316]

The Eyeballing Game. Self explanatory. Really fun. Kinda hard.

The Hectic Sluggard. C.J. Mahaney (via J.T.) discusses the possibility (and frequency) of being busy and lazy simultaneously.

20 Typefaces to Start a Designer’s Career. Seriously, stop with the Comic Sans people!

101 Photoshop Tips in Five Minutes. Speaking of design, there are some Photoshop shortcut jewels in this video, if you can catch them.

Second Rate Snacks. Entertaining, informative, controversial.

100 Tips and Tools for Managing Your Personal Library. I’m a book nerd. I am a possible future librarian. I would love to have our own personal library. I loved some of these tips (namely some under the headings Tips, Articles, Books to Add, Making Space, and Book Labeling & Care).


7 thoughts on “Information Overload

  1. On the man skills, I love #19 (so manly) and #72 I learned from my sailor dad (such fun times those were) when I was about 8 years old. Can’t say I’ve ever needed to use a bowline other than when sailing, but you never know…

  2. By my count, I have at least a head knowledge of 48 items (53 is if you count #’s 60-64, which I thought were vauge). I was weakest on the workshop tools category.I’m surprised roof repair didn’t make the list. I understand roof theory, but have no practical experience. You do, of course, because of missions trips with Len.I, on the other hand, became well versed in #’s 51, 57, and 58 while a counselor at Susque–my summer mission of choice.I feel like I should know how to weld, I wouldn’t know where to start. How does one know for sure how to escape from a sinking car (unless one decides to follow a TomTom’s directions literally)? What is a French knife?

  3. I LOVED the Eyeballing Game, although former employees of LLM should be banned (what with the cornered market that we had on Bionic Eyes). I scored a 2.94 the first time I completed the set, had a 2.91 after two runs, and finished with a 3.04Becca scored 4.64Harold did not participate.

  4. Well done, though I’m not surprised you did so well, with your artistic abilities, engineering degree, and general good eye. I, on the other hand, never broke 4.5, which puts me in the Becca range.

comment

