Hymns as Prayers

At the Matthew Smith show last week, he mentioned the power and flexibility of hymns as forms of worship, prayer, confession, peace, etc. His version of the hymn/prayer “Calmer of My Troubled Heart (Hallelujah)” has not left my playlist since (words come from a poem by Charles Wesley). Lyrics here:

Calmer of my troubled heart,
Bid my unbelief depart.
Speak, and all my sorrows cease,
Speak, and all my soul is peace.

Hallelujah

Comfort me when e’er I mourn
with the hope of Thy return.
And til I Thy glory see,
Help me believe in Thee.

Hallelujah

One thought on “Hymns as Prayers

  1. I looked to the left as I read this and saw you are currently listening to Christmas music. 🙂 *sigh* You are my favorite brother in law…have I told you that?

comment

