Information Overload

I came across a lot of these all at once, and liked them either for their insight, humor, or perspective. Enjoy.

The Rules: A mostly true, mostly funny list of things to remember when finding a mate. I found this especially funny given the introduction from a Grove City College perspective. My favourite “rules” include #5, 9, 17, 20, and especially 13. [ht: Challies]

The Power of Negative Thinking: A New York Times op-ed piece about the ills of positive thinking related to the financial crisis, America, religion, and realism. [ht: my Humanities 601 professor]


A Different Kind of Fast: A guy took a hard but fruitful Internet fast, which E and I want to informally do in the near future. [ht: Challies, I think]

Football & the Gospel: Speaking of “fasts” and focusing more fully on God, our friend Adam writes on being a college football fan as it relates to the Gospel. I’ve been having similar thoughts recently, and will probably write a related post shortly.

Yankee Stadium Memories: Another nice segue, this time with sports. My brother posted his memories of Yankee Stadium, many of which are also my memories.

A Look to Last: A friend clued me into this Virginia Beach company – they do Permanent Makeup work. Kinda weird, kinda ridiculous. I guess I can’t blame them for their entrepreneurial spirit. “Imagine having perfectly designed eyebrows, gorgeously defined eyes, and sensual looking lips lasting not for a day but for several years…Permanent Makeup allow [sic] busy people to look their best at all times, enhancing the beauty of those who desire more than what Mother Nature gave them.”

Getting Serious About Worship: A brief, helpful letter response as well as a booklet preview on thoughtful, biblical worship. [ht: OPC]

Goostly Psalmes: A fantastic choral album of a capella Psalms. I woke the other day singing “O ‘Twas a Joyful Sound to Hear,” which we learned at our church’s weekly hymn and psalm sing this summer. Only $5.97 for the entire album via mp3 download! [ht: Monnettes]

Sound Doctrine is Hard Work: Team Pyro writes a lengthy exposition of several passages, with a challenging exhortation at the end: [edited for length] “What land has God entrusted to you? Are you working it wisely, and towards a definite end? Or are you pursuing empty things? Are you plowing up the rocks, and plucking the weeds? That is, do you reprove, rebuke, and exhort with all patience and doctrine? Or have you listed to the siren call of the marketers, and started ‘beefing up’ your worship with crunchy, insubstantial vanities, ‘pursuing’ horizontal popularity at the cost of vertical infamy? Do you test yourself, accept reproof, fill your heart with the Word of God?”

Blogging: Great graphic. Fitting way to end this post. [ht: between two worlds]

7 thoughts on “Information Overload

  1. Hey Michael,Thanks for your thoughts about the fast – great insights. I honestly don’t remember where – maybe from Challies blog? I remember seeing it on a blog I frequent, and bookmarked it.Joel

  2. Great list! Interesting to see such an eclectic variety, but I particularly appreciated the link regarding propriety in worship. It gave me some helpful thoughts as I develop a Biblical position on worship and church. I look forward to checking out the rest of your list as well…though I may pass on the baseball piece…no offense to your Yanks. 🙂

  3. When I was six or seven, I established a set of three “must”s regarding my future wife:1. Must not be older than me.2. Must not be taller than me.3. Must not be smarter than me.

  4. I love the goostly psalmes — my friend had this CD back in the day. Thanks for the link! (Should I go there before or after my internet fast?)Scott — my prayer was for a wife who was shorter than me BUT from a tall family. This would help my kids out a bit. As it turns out, God answered this prayer. Whether Cullen will benefit is yet to be seen.

comment

