My Wife, The Fantasy Sports Widow

Baseball season is hard on my wife. Then again, so is football season. It’s mainly because I am an avid fantasy sports player, and have been since 2002, specializing in fantasy football and baseball and dabbling in fantasy basketball. I realized this year that I might have a problem: In the awful dead time between football and baseball seasons, my friend and I tried out fantasy golf and fantasy NASCAR. Though these two endeavors ended up being really lame, they were beneficial in making me see my problem: I’m a fantasy sports addict.

Don’t get me wrong, I am proud of my 10 Yahoo! fantasy sports trophies sitting beautifully in my virtual trophy case. However, I think it’s time to cut back a bit after my wife requested one of these Women Against Fantasy Sports t-shirts for a Christmas present:

I’m already disconnected from fantasy baseball this year thanks to the Yankees doing so poorly, and I won’t be as into fantasy football this season thanks to our new “no-screens Sabbath” policy. My keeper league fantasy draft is Saturday morning, 9 a.m., which promises to be a blast. But since drafting is easily my favourite aspect of fantasy sports, it’s all downhill from there. Here’s to a quieter fantasy sports life from here on out.

One thought on “My Wife, The Fantasy Sports Widow

comment

