Which Came First: The Chicken or the Chicken Sandwich?

That’s one of the taglines for Chick-Fil-A, a fantastic fast food joint that has so many good things going for it:

* They serve the best chicken sandwich I’ve ever had
*Their advertising department puts out some good stuff
*Their breakfast menu is solid
*They are the original makers of the chicken sandwich
*They are closed on Sundays
*They provide a great atmosphere to meet with Ken

Lately, McDonald’s has been heavily promoting their Southern Style Chicken Sandwich and Southern Style Chicken Biscuit. Apparently it’s been out since 2006, but I’ve only noticed them aggressively marketing it in the last couple months – from store window fronts to TV ads to coupons for free sandwiches.

Now I’m all about free food, so when I got my coupons for one free Sandwich and one free Biscuit along with my Amazon book order, I was excited. Though I must admit – my excitement was a reserved excitement because it looked like McDonald’s (the Microsoft of fast food joints) was trying to steal market share away from their poor little brother, Chick-Fil-A (the Mac of fast food joints perhaps?). But I decided to give it a shot – afterall, it’s free right?

I used the Biscuit coupon Thursday morning, and the Sandwich coupon Friday afternoon. Let’s just say that the two McDonald’s sandwiches are BLATANT RIP OFFS of Chick-Fil-A’s tried and true (may I say heavenly?) chicken concoctions. I am very upset at McDonald’s that they are trying to steal business from Chick-Fil-A when McDonald’s is already the world’s number one fast food restaurant. Granted, I can’t blame them for trying to copy Chick-Fil-A’s perfect sandwiches, but still….McDonald’s copied them right down to the two pickles on the sandwich (though McDonald’s placed theirs on top, Chick-Fil-A puts theirs on the bottom of the breast). McDonald’s has even copied Chick-Fil-A’s “Which Came First” tag – www.whatcamefirst.com.

The McDonald’s sandwich didn’t even compare to the Chick-Fil-A sandwich. I remain peeved at McDonald’s and as an act of protest against McDonald’s money-mongering ways and in support of Chick-Fil-A, I will never buy either of these sandwiches from McDonald’s – ever. I would highly encourage you to follow suit, though I guess y’all Northerners don’t know what you’re missing in Chick-Fil-A.

7 thoughts on “Which Came First: The Chicken or the Chicken Sandwich?

  1. Wow. The totality of evil.I also received those coupons. Now what should I do with them? Should I use them, since that prevents McD’s from giving the copycat (or copychicken) biscuit/sandwich to someone else? Or should I give them to you for safe keeping? Or just use them?I need some wisdom here. Should we talk this over at Chik-fil-A?

  2. At the risk of posting far too many comments on your blog (sorry, I’m catching up)… On your summer reading list you have “The Epistle to the Hebrews” by FF Bruce. But FF Bruce didn’t write the Epistle to the Hebrews; that has been part of the biblical canon since the late first century or so.FF Bruce has many fine books. But like the chicken sandwich, it’s better to go with the original author.

  3. I wholeheartedly agree on the Chick-Fil-A vs. McDonald’s debate. I generally avoid fast food of all kinds, but if I’m in a pinch and need a quick bite to eat, Chick-Fil-A is the destination of choice.Also, perhaps you’ve discovered this concoction: mix the hot sauce with the honey roasted barbeque sauce. Simply delicious. The cookies and cream milkshakes are also very excellent.

  4. I think a Chick-Fil-A discussion is appropriate given your difficult circumstances. Maybe a letter to Amazon is needed?And yes, you are correct – the original author is the best (even if we don’t know 100% who it is, like with Hebrews). The Bruce book is a companion study piece to me going through Hebrews.I’ve found that seems to make for more profitable, and in most cases easier, reading if you read the original source opposed to a secondary source writing about the original source. Like reading Calvin instead of someone writing about Calvin, or Aristotle.

  5. It is fast food heresy to even begin to compare McD’s and Chick-fil-a. Besides, didn’t you see Super Size Me? They can attempt to copy the sandwich, but they will never approximate the overall experience. Ken – you should use your coupons as bookmarks.

comment

