The Land of Fadeless Day

Maybe the upcoming Father’s Day holiday was on my mind, or maybe there was no good reason for it whatsoever. Whatever the reason was, I woke up this morning with the hymn “No Night There” in my head (#730 in the old/blue Trinity Hymnal, not sure what number in the red/new one). I haven’t sung this song in church in who knows how long, yet I easily recalled the rich lyrics and rehearsed them in my head throughout the day.

As I grew up, my dad would sing this hymn quite often to us kids as we fell asleep. It’s soft, soothing melody and rich, heavenly lyrics were the perfect lullaby. As I sang to myself this morning, I couldn’t help but smile and get a little emotional as I thought of Dad softly singing about what heaven will be like. Him singing this hymn ranks near the top of the list of my all-time favorite memories from childhood.

I look back on those moments now, and realize that this hymn was a perfect choice for my dad to sing to us kids – and not only for the lullaby-esque quality of the hymn. Its words, while rich and glorious to an adult, are simple and descriptive enough for a child to understand. As a child lying in bed, I would hear Dad singing this song and try to envision what heaven would be like –no tears, no pain, no night, golden streets, and gates of pearl.

While examining this hymn now as an adult, it has even more meaning to me. I understand the last verse even more now than I did then – the Lamb (Christ) is all the light in heaven – no sun, no moon. How great it will be when there will be no night because we will be forever praising His name.

I close with the apostle John’s longing for Christ’s return and believers entering into the “land of fadeless day” in Revelation 22:7 and 20: “And behold, I am coming soon…He who testifies to these things says, ‘Surely I am coming soon.’ Amen. Come, Lord Jesus!” (ESV)

#730 “No Night There”
In the land of fadeless day
Lies the city four-square.
It shall never pass away,
And there is no night there.

Refrain:
God shall wipe away all tears;
There’s no death, no pain, nor fears;
And they count not time by years,
For there is no night there.

All the gates of pearl are made
In the city four-square.
All the streets with gold are laid,
And there is no night there.

And the gates shall never close
To the city four-square.
There life’s crystal river flows,
And there is no night there.

There they need no sunshine bright,
In that city four-square.
For the Lamb is all the light,
And there is no night there.

4 thoughts on “The Land of Fadeless Day

  1. Thanks for your reminiscences and for sharing John Clements' hymn. You touch on an interesting point. As we grow older, and are able to view these great songs through the filter of life's experiences, we find new meaning in them. I do believe it is important to teach children the great hymns of the faith. But it will be in years to come, as they call the songs to mind, that they will be blessed by them at a deeper level.Incidentally, today is the 63rd anniversary of Clements' death. He is now enjoying the bliss of the heavenly city he wrote about. And if you enjoy learning about hymns and their authors, I invite you to check out my daily blog on the subject, Wordwise Hymns. God bless.

comment

